Read Testimonials Left By Students

My Cake Class 5 out of 5 based on 2 ratings. 2 user reviews.
My Cake Class
I just got done taking Course 1 with Carolyn.

I wasn't sure I could do this but it was something I have always wanted to try.

Carolyn had a very calming way of teaching when I would start to panic or get stressed out.

I recommend her classes to anyone.
02/15/2015
My Cake Class
My children recently took a kids class with her and had a wonderful time.

She was upbeat, energetic and a wonderful instructor.

She made each child in class feel like their decorating was the best in the class and my kids want to take a new class with her soon.
02/15/2015
My Cake Class
I am a current student of Carolyn's and love her class. She has a way of making everyone feel welcome, that there are no mistakes made and just always positive, and very easy going.

I am looking forward to taking all of the courses and project classes with her.
03/27/2014
My Cake Class
I loved all of your classes. You were very experienced in not only how to do and show the Wilton techniques but also in baking and trouble shooting any problems I had.

You made the time fly by in class and much less intimidating than I thought it would be. Thank you for sharing your skill with us. Your passion for decorating and teaching is a perfect combination.

When in your class I sense a feeling of peace and with all the stress I am going through it's a wonderful thing to feel when in your class.
03/22/2014
My Cake Class
I have really enjoyed taking carolyn's cake courses at michaels.

She is fun, and upbeat. The classroom is clean, and the associates there are nice.

I would recommend her classes to anyone wanting to try cake decorating.
03/07/2014
My Cake Class
My daughter recently took the four week course 1 with carolyn and loved it. She was engaging, funny, upbeat and NEVER put down someone's work but instead found a positive thing to say about it.

My daughter was intimidated to be in a class with all adults and being the youngest in there but Carolyn really made her feel special.

She will be returning to take the rest of the courses in the coming months.

We are glad to have shopped around between stores. In researching taking classes between this store and another in town and researching the background of each instructor we went with Carolyn. We are glad we made this choice.

She has great talent with what she does and her love for it comes through with each student she sits with in class.

You get your money's worth and then some with her.
02/23/2014
My Cake Class
This is THE instructor to take classes from in the Eugene/Springfield area. I took them from her in 2013 and had a wonderful time. I am hoping a new class or course comes out soon so I can take it again.

She has a very easy way about her and is able to make your mistakes seem like nothing at all while being able to give you something positive about it.

Her experience with cake decorating is helpful, but her non stressful class vibe is priceless.
02/02/2014
My Cake Class
Just recently took a class at the other location in town. The teacher was not confident, and none of my stuff looked like it should have. I found out she doesn't have any background decorating.

I came to Carolyn with concerns and unfortunately she could not reteach me what I needed with out registering with her. I was hesitant to pay for Course 1 again, but she promised me it would be worth it and work out. She was right.

I will now be retaking all four courses with her after having paid and committed to the other store as well and can't back out there.

Lesson learned, don't pay for your class with the first instructor you see. Shop around and ask questions of the instructors. As I found out, you don't learn anything from a brand new teacher you just pay to have "fun" but don't learn, but with a veteran instructor you get more than your money's worth, especially in Carolyn's classes. I have learned a lot of what to and not to do, while having fun.
01/06/2014
My Cake Class
I was debating between your class and the other location in town. There was a $5 difference in cost. What sold me was your website vs. the other instructor's Facebook page and meeting you. You were very warm and welcoming in person just as your website is with me. I loved that you were starting a class and invited me in to see what you were teaching that night and not only talked to the students but made me feel a part of class as well. I look forward to starting class next month with you.
12/21/2013
My Cake Class
Part way through my course with Carolyn I lost a family member unexpectedly. I called and let her know that I'd be absent that coming week due to their funeral earlier in the day. She was very understanding. The following week upon returning I was presented with flowers, a gift card and a card she had made by hand for me that the entire class signed. I never could say more than squeak out a thank you but that meant so much to me, more than she knew. Her classes are not just entertaining, but she has a way to bring us all together to make it a close group of friends. I've seen the classes held at the other store in town offering them and they are no where near as engaging, or appear to be fun like hers were for me. If you have to choose between the teacher(s) at Joann's and Michaels... it's worth the extra $5 you may pay at Michaels. The teacher makes or breaks the class and Carolyn makes it worth ten times that price.
12/05/2013
My Cake Class
I loved the little things you surprised us with. A bag holder clip, a kitchen towel, a gel color every now and then. It showed me you cared about us as people and not just students coming through a class for a paycheck.
12/01/2013
My Cake Class
Was a bit frustrated because I had class cancelled on me a couple times between the two locations that offer them due to the class minimum not being set.

Yours was the first one that ran so I took it. I met some wonderful people who shared my desire to learn how to decorate.

I appreciate your classes always starting on time, and it being in the classroom instead of on the aisle.

You were a fun teacher and I enjoyed the class. When I have money saved to afford the kit and registration for course 2 I will return.
11/26/2013
My Cake Class

Took your course 1 and really liked it. Much better than the other instructor I had from another store. Thanks for keeping the class relaxed and stress free.

11/26/2013
My Cake Class
Just recently took the courses with Carolyn. FUN! She teaches in a relaxed "even I don't get it perfect" atmosphere. She has a talent for making everyone relaxed in class too. She sticks to the book with what she teaches, but does it in a very laid back way that makes you feel like you aren't in class but in a room with friends sharing what you love. I will start with her project classes next when I can afford it.
11/26/2013
My Cake Class
I enjoyed Carolyn's classes. She was very professional in both appearance, and presentation. She was able to trouble shoot most of the problems in class rather quickly and was good at saying "I am not sure about that, but I'll find out" and having the answer the following week. Rarely though did she have to research an answer.

I didn't enjoy being out on the aisle the first time I took the classes, which is out of her control and I don't fault her for that. When I recently found out their classroom was added I went back and took the classes again. The classroom was so much better for learning on so many levels. Don't let the aisle classes deter you though, she's awesome at dealing with customers, and not letting her focus deter from students.
11/10/2013
My Cake Class
I just got done taking Carolyn's course 1 class recently. I discovered I am decorating challenged. Instead of pointing out my VERY glaringly obvious flaws Carolyn found what was good about it. "You did perfect swirl flowers" "Your leaves are spot in" etc It made me look at the good in the cake not the bad. When I asked her about moving on to the next course because I didn't feel confident her reply "hey I wasn't good at this at first either" left me feeling encouraged that I could do this. I loved the fact she said we can always drop in with a bag of icing for a refresher. I made me not feel like class was done and so was she. She wants us to love what we do and said often "she's our cake tech support" and means what she says.

Great fun, good results and I will take all four courses.
11/10/2013
My Cake Class
I had the opportunity to attend a Course 1 with Carolyn in 2012. The class had 15 students in it. It was a bit crowded, but she made us feel as at home as she could.

Teaching a large group like ours had to be tricky to her. Getting everything taught, each of us one on one time with the technique, and the conversation flowing classes that size have to be stressful on her. She never let it show.

A few times someone wanted to go to a topic like parenting, pregnancy etc and she was wonderful with turning it around to something else that suited everyone.

If you want to take a class, I suggest her classes. She is professional, fun, and real at the same time.
10/30/2013
My Cake Class
I took the Cupcake class. It was listed on the calendar as a generic theme class because the store can't alter the name to add the seasonal theme I didn't expect her to arrive for Halloween themed cupcakes. She was able to show me some of the basic techniques, and add a Halloween twist (ie pumpkin) for those that wanted them, and teach the same technique but with a different look (ie flower, cloud etc) for those that didn't.

It may seem small to most but I appreciated her showing up and smelling clean (conditioner, soap, etc) and in a chef's coat that was also freshly laundered. Her hands and fingernails were clean and she washed her hands often in class. Suffering from a condition where germs bother me, seeing her intent on good, safe health habits in class really put me at ease. I would definitely return for a future class with her when I have the time to attend one.
10/30/2013
My Cake Class
Took the pops class for a "date night" and we had a lot of fun. Learned how to make them, cover them in chocolate and Carolyn had a handout of flavor ideas that have been a hit with our kids as we continue to practice and perfect them. Great time with my wife, and a fun class. I recommend it to anyone.
10/30/2013
My Cake Class
I took the POPS! class over the summer to learn more about how to make them. I wasn't thrilled with using rice crispy treats as I wanted to master the actual "pop" and making it properly. Carolyn said it would be fine to make and bring some along with the RC treats. She used the break room freezer to keep my pops solid and was a HUGE help with fixing my blunders with them. I also loved her recipe hand out she gave us at the end of the 2nd class as a surprise with our certificates. She was very positive, artistic and fun.
10/25/2013
My Cake Class
I absolutely loved taking the courses with Carolyn! I learned a lot with excellent guidance and have been able to turned what I learned into several awesome cakes. I'm even doing my first paid cake for Halloween! Yay!
Thanks Carolyn! You were an awesome teacher!
10/24/2013
My Cake Class
FUN TIMES! I can't say how much fun I had with your courses. The laughter, your clown nose when you didn't get it right really made the classes fun. I miss ya and hope to return soon for your project classes now that you are running them all the time again.
10/24/2013
My Cake Class
I recently finished Course 3 with Carolyn and had a wonderful time. Working with Gum Paste for the first time was a bit stressful but her approach and tips shared to working with it really helped me out. I will be coming back for Course 4 after the holidays.
10/22/2013
My Cake Class
I moved to the area recently and didn't know anyone. At the urging of my husband I registered for the class. It was a lot of fun. The first week is packed with a lot of information and Carolyn was great about letting us know what was important to remember, and what wasn't. She made sure we knew how to contact her if we had any questions outside of class by giving us her cell phone. I did have to call her a few times, and she was so understanding and gracious over it. You can tell she has a love for what she does which made class an awesome experience. I will be returning for the rest of the courses as I can afford it.
10/20/2013
My Cake Class
I took the series of courses with Carolyn and really enjoyed them. She was able to clearly communicate the techniques in an easy to understand way. It made a hard craft so much easier, and less stressful. I recommend her classes to anyone.
10/20/2013

 

 

 

____________________________________________________________________

Please note that there is a 2nd instructor at this  store location. If you are planning to register for a class specifically with me, don’t forget to verify the name of the instructor that you are registering with.